The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

The former Children’s Hospital, Nottingham

I came across a reference to the old Children’s Hospital at Forest House recently and it brought quite a few childhood memories rushing back. I managed somehow to get myself knocked down (well up in the air actually) by a beefy Ford Consul when I was a kid and ended up a guest in said institution. When I eventually landed it was with two broken legs, one in three places, and concussion plus a few sundry cuts and bruises for good measure. I recall being upside down in the air and seeing my shoe flying up the street. I also remember then doggedly trying to drag myself to my feet using a bus stop to hold on to and looking down to see my leg bend in the wrong place. They carted me off to ‘The Children’s’ in an ambulance where I remained for a week. With physiotherapy (learning to walk again basically) my young association with that hospital lasted a year though.

image
I was terrified of the place but they looked after me very well (I’ve gone on to run a few marathons as an adult so they did very well indeed I guess!) but I was scared stiff of the building and the unknown in there as I thought they were going to take my legs away for good. I remember the above so well, being taken for physiotherapy there  by my mum so many times.

The kindest, kindest man, a jolly West Indian doctor, looked after me and made me smile – even though he was tasked with re-breaking my legs twice in operations as they had knitted crookedly. On another failed occasion they sawed the long plaster casts half through at the shins and banged wooden pegs in the gaps to straighten my legs. Looking back it was like something out of a Hammer horror movie. I wish I could thank that kindly doctor today though.

March 10, 2014 - Posted by | On The Road, Times Gone By | ,

3 Comments »

  1. I work at old Nottingham children’s hospital for three years in early seventies lots of happy memories 1972 / 1975

    Comment by Margery Watson | January 16, 2016

  2. Forgot to say my surname was Jones and I worked in the high dependency unit .

    Comment by Margery Watson | January 18, 2016

  3. Thank you for your comments, Margery, they’re appreciated. It’s good that you enjoyed your time at the hospital. For the time I was in there during the 1960s and attending as an outpatient I was treated only with great kindness.

    Stuart

    Comment by Stuart | January 18, 2016


Leave a Reply

