The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

Antony Gormley’s Another Place

Staying in Southport on Merseyside recently, I made the effort to pop down the coast to Crosby just to the north of Liverpool and visit the superb piece of work Another Place by Angel of The North sculptor, Antony Gormley. I could never make my mind up about The Angel  of The North loved as it is by many as symbolic of the North-east of England.

image

When I first set eyes on it on one of my sojourns up the A1 to Edinburgh I felt it faintly ludicrous, rusting as it appeared to be. I’ve changed my view on that nowadays. It’s fair to say that is an eye-catching and auspicious sight – especially when viewed heading northwards.

Another Place consists of a hundred life-size figures cast in iron. The figures are driven into the beach on foundation piles measuring a metre high and are spread out over an area reaching over three kilometres of the Crosby foreshore and stand in the waves and out.

image

image

The figures are cast from a copy of Gormley’s own body and all look out to sea, staring at the distant horizon. The point Gormley makes is of migrants sad at leaving their  homeland but with the hopes of a new and better future in a far and distant place, ‘a poetic response to the individual and universal sentiments associated with emigration – sadness at leaving, but the hope of a new future in another place.’

If you’re in this part of the world go along to Crosby sands and see it. It’s an amazing sight and a very evocative piece of work. You won’t be disappointed.

July 23, 2009 - Posted by | On The Road | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I was taken to see this by my girlfriend at the time. It was a couple of years ago when Liverpool had the ‘City of Culture’ status. Before then, I hadn’t really thought of Liverpool as a place to visit, but when your girlfriend lives there, then needs must!

    I was totally bowled over by all that Liverpool had to offer, from the Tate to the Super-Lamb-Banana (great concept!), but when I saw this piece I was blown away.

    It was a clear and crisp winter day – late afternoon. A huge bank of mist was rolling our of the mouth of the river enveloping the huge cranes in the distance. The temperature was dropping rapidly as the sun lowered in the sky and became a bright orange glow through the mist. The beach fell silent with not a soul on it as the tide start to wash the feet of the figures. We stood in silence for an hour of more and just watched as the un-moving figures were engulfed by the water.

    Totally spooky, but one of the most memorable pieces of art I have ever ‘experienced’

    Comment by Justin Miles | November 8, 2009

  2. That’s a great description, Justin, thanks. I had similar feelings to you when I visited. I was short of time – just fitting in a quick visit and with any great preconceptions or expectations. I too though was taken aback by it. It’s so atmospheric and evocative. It’s a moveable feast of sorts too – quite a different experience to yor would be watching the figures slowly uncovered by an early-morning ebbing tide for instance A truly wonderful piece of art. Taking your point about what Liverpool has to offer elsewhere too. I really need to spend some time discovering that city.

    Comment by Stuart | November 8, 2009

  3. […] on images to view their sources and for further information.  And here are some more great photos of Another […]

    Pingback by Another Place | | November 5, 2013


Leave a Reply

