A Highland Tour: Introduction

On the 14th August 1773 James Boswell and Samuel L Johnson embarked upon an 83 day tour of the Highlands recording their observations towards their destination of Skye. Whilst not attempting to emulate their tremendous but somewhat formalised view of their journey, mine has been a great pleasure over the years in touring the Highlands of the country I love and I’d like to relate some of my own observations of the area.

It wasn’t a single tour as such, but rather a culmination of many, collated as a suggested holiday for a good friend interested in seeing a selection of the glorious landscape. For ease’s sake I have split the tour into separate sections as all of the places I talk about are, for me, very precious and special ones.

Now enjoy the road to the Isles…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.