Old Soul Revisited

It was last summer, I was driving along a local country lane, top down on the car and not particularly listening in to some fairly bland BBC Radio Two fare interspersed with chatter. Nothing new there…until suddenly this amazing song came out of the speakers. My first thoughts were that it was from the late sixties-early seventies era with it’s Stax-fused horns and soulful, imploring vocals. ‘Don’t remember this one, it must have somehow passed my by all these years’ were my immediate thoughts. I listened carefully for the title and singer, Eli ‘Paperboy’ Reed & The True Loves – Come and get it. Immediately on returning home and curious, I found it on the Internet and played it over and over. Remember when you used to buy a 45 and do that? You just couldn’t get enough of a tune?

Eli ‘Paperboy’ Reed and the True Loves – Come And Get It

Born Eli Husock, the artist is a young US singer with a big future in my humble opinion. His band, The Trueloves, tight as a drum, roll back the years with every note. Together they effortlessly evoke a golden era of soul music through their love and dedication of the genre. Make no mistake, this is the real thing. Go listen.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.