Sea and Sand – The Who

There’s no such thing as a perfect piece of rock music but I believe Sea and Sand from The Who’s Quadrophenia comes as close as most. It’s a song set on many levels. A song about being young, confused and distraught. It’s a song about being let down by life and most things in it.

Although of Mod sensibilities (My jacket’s gonna be cut slim and checked) it can apply to anyone who has felt these emotions very deeply. As I have.

The first verse is an absolute anthem to anyone who experienced an upbringing of mixed messages as I did. sometimes love and sometimes the confusion of the presence of apparent naked hatred and distrust in the family home. Did you ever feel unwanted in those days?

A young man looking for direction but with no anchor, nowhere to turn as his life slowly but surely collapses around him. let down by those who bore him, betrayed by the girl he loved, uncertain of his place in the world.

Finally desolate loneliness.

quadrophenia-the-who

Here by the sea and sand
Nothing ever goes as planned,
I just couldn’t face going home
It was just a drag on my own.
They finally threw me out
My mom got drunk on stout,
My dad couldn’t stand on two feet,
As he lectured about morality.
Now I guess the family’s complete,
With me hanging round on the street
Or here on the beach.

The girl I love
Is a perfect dresser,
Wears every fashion
Gets it to the tee.
Heavens above,
I got to match her
She knows just how
She wants her man to be
Leave it to me.

SEA AND SAND

My jacket’s gonna be cut slim and checked
Maybe a touch of seersucker with an open neck
I ride a G.S. scooter with my hair cut neat
I wear my wartime coat in the wind and sleet.

I see her dance
Across the ballroom
UV light making starshine
Of her smile.
I am the face,
She has to know me,
I’m dressed up better than anyone
Within a mile.

So how come the other tickets look much better?
Without a penny to spend they dress to the letter.
How come the girls come on oh so cool
Yet when you meet ’em, every one’s a fool?

Come sleep on the beach
Keep within my reach
I just want to die with you near
I’m feeling so high with you here.
I’m wet and I’m cold
But thank God I ain’t old
Why didn’t I ever say what I mean?
I should have split home at fifteen.
There’s a story that the grass is so green,
What did I see?
Where have I been?

Nothing is planned, by the sea and the sand

6 thoughts on “Sea and Sand – The Who”

  1. Hi Stu, love your website. Admire the way that all your loves and comments are displayed.

    Townshend’s ‘Sea and Sand’ surely is a poem about youth’s insecurity don’t you think?

    I was a young girl at the time ‘The Who’ appeared to the public. Townshend’s lyrics were revolutionary back then. Stuttering whilst singing – ‘My Generation’ – was wondered at and when the group sang ‘I’m a Boy’ the majority of people – even the youth – couldn’t believe what they were hearing. How dare they sing such songs!

    But Townshend was so thankfully daring, forging the way ahead for the angry young man’s thoughts to be heard through music and song – ‘The Who’ were the first punks in my opinion.

    I love the stuff they did as ‘The High Numbers’; love the archive film of them playing amongst the Mods.

    ‘I Can’t Explain’ one of my favourites.

    Christine xx (Jackson)

  2. Thanks very much for the kind words Christine. Yes, that’s exactly how I see ‘Sea and Sand’ I know of a few people that the song is very meaningful for.

    I sometimes think that, maybe ‘Tommy’ and ‘Quadrophenia’ apart, Pete’s writing has been underrated over the years. That classic string of sixties singles such as ‘I Cant Explain, ‘The Kids are Alright’ and ‘My Generation’ can be compared with the output of any of the other great songwriters in contemporary bands such as Lennon/McCartney, Jagger/Richard and Ray Davies. Maybe you have already done so but have a look at what Townshend’s original concept of his ‘Lifehouse’ project was all about – it’s fairly mind-boggling! (and completely original).

    I am very grateful to say I saw The Who at their very best, three times around 1975/6. I’d love to have seen them as a young Mod in one of the clubs they played. That must have been such an exciting time.

    Thanks again

    Stu

  3. Hi Stu, I’ve been taking a look at some of The Who’s music (You Tube) and came to the opinion that they and The Kinks were as good as The Beatles / Rolling Stones.

    I appreciate the fine intellect of Pete Townshend and will follow up his ‘Lifehouse’ project.

    As a youngster I never appreciated that ‘Moon the Lune’ played his drums as though he was just an important a member of the group as the others.

    Christine

  4. Did get to see ‘The Who’ at the Finsbury Park Astoria, north London,October 1965.
    ‘Any way, Any where, Any how’ brought the house down,back then we knew, this was our generation and we would carry the ‘mod’ revolution forward.

  5. I recently viewed a piece of footage from Ready Steady Go where they played that Bryan and whilst I’ve always know the track well it looked sensational live. Really showcased the band’s aggressive style from that era. Terrific stuff.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.