The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

Betsy

A random email arrives from a family research site that I merely dabbled with around five years ago. It shows quite some information about my Scottish family that I previously knew little of.

Elizabeth ‘Betsy’ Drysdale Archibald. Born: 15 February 1893 – Died: 22 June 1922

Elizabeth ‘Betsy’ Drysdale Archibald, my grandmother who I was never destined to meet, died in my father’s infancy, leaving husband Henry Frew and two young sons, my father, John and his older brother, Alexander ‘Sandy’. She lived in Musselburgh, East Lothian and died in Edinburgh where she had worked in the North British Hotel as a head seamstress, that I knew. It seems that Betsy came from ten children, just like my mother and father did. Her father, John came from all of eleven children too. So many, many children. I have never known the cause of her death.

Place names in the family tree linked in the email are most often solidly East Lothian: Gladsmuir, Elvingstone. Tranent, Haddington, as well as Musselburgh.

I have just one picture of Betsy. the only one in existence to my knowledge.

Although never having met her, I have a lot of love for her.

May 28, 2017 - Posted by | Ripping Yarns

2 Comments »

  1. She’s a lovely looking person: I’d be delighted to know her I think! Know what you mean.

    Comment by signsofanopencity | May 29, 2017

  2. Thank you. i think so too but then I’m biased!

    Comment by Stuart | May 29, 2017


Leave a Reply

