The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

August in Woodborough – ‘Making Hay’

The end of August 2015 beckons as I write, leading to those days of ‘mellow fruitfulness’ of Autumn that can be so stimulating, atmospheric and enjoyable. Enduring sun and crisper days.

I’d an enjoyable and familiar run from nearby Woodborough, Nottinghamshire yesterday which took my friend and I through the pretty and adjacent Epperstone village and return. Grateful for a pleasant, sunny and warm late Summer day, we afterwards headed to a local garden centre cafe for our customary and welcome sandwiches and tea for lunch.

image

Lowdham Lane, Woodborough

Just as we were setting off on our run, it was good to see the bright green tractors with massively stacked healthy-looking hay bales piled on trailers heading to their destination along Main Street. It brought back memories of school days and cross-country running afternoons where a certain couple of class members hitched a lift aback to travel up one of the steep local hills!

There probably aren’t many better places to be than lying atop a haystack with big blue skies above, the sun generously blazing down on you, recharging you.

Yesterday’s run was a marker towards the end of the Summer as it is likely there will be a change of destination on Saturday mornings in the future. Next week will be a drive down to the Vale of Belvoir ‘the Beautiful Vale’ for a run along the Grantham Canal and a crossing of three counties, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire and Lincolnshire. It has been my custom to run and walk through all four of God’s good seasons since I have known how and that will continue. Onwards and upwards

You can play this as an accompaniment if you would like.

August 30, 2015 - Posted by | Ripping Yarns

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Colin, so sorry to hear about your mum, remember her well from Southglade road, once you are over your grieving you will look back over the wonderful times you had with your mum, I lost my mum nearly 8 years ago (my dad is still alive) you never forget the loss of your mum but I remember her every day with a smile. God bless from Janet Young nee Curtis

    Comment by Janet young | August 31, 2015

  2. There is a peace on and by canals that is unique and the Vale of Belvoir is a beautiful area. Have you been watching Tim West and Pru Scales’s canal journeys on C4? They are joy of peace and love. You have a lovely writing style Stuart and I am there with you. That is a gift. x

    Comment by Jane Sturgeon | April 3, 2016

  3. Thanks for the kind words, Jane. I think the slow pace of the waters are a great regulator. There is also endless interest in water, whether it be canals, rivers lakes or perhaps most of all, the sea. I didn’t see that particular programme but feel sure it was something that I would have enjoyed.

    Comment by Stuart | April 3, 2016

  4. It’s the first time I have been blessed by living next to the sea Stuart and it is a daily joy.🙂 x

    Comment by Jane Sturgeon | April 3, 2016

  5. I can easily imagine, having the sea (the Forth) basically at the end of my family home’s street when I was young. I think that enters your soul and stays there forever.

    Comment by Stuart | April 3, 2016


Leave a Reply

