The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

Five Songs for Five Days (2): Just a Little Misunderstanding – The Contours

Continuing with the second choice of five songs for five days.

Day Two of Five. Just a Little Misunderstanding – The Contours

I first came across this song as an inclusion on a budget cassette compilation in the early seventies which I probably paid 50p for and it had a real effect on me. I’m not sure I’d heard the term ‘Northern Soul’ at that point but the track’s driving uptempo rhythms became very familiar to me shortly afterwards in that idiom. I’ve liked practically every song I’ve ever heard by The Contours since.

It didn’t achieve great success commercially, apparently only reaching a modest number 85 in the Billboard charts but it’s a number one hit in my book. This song still does something to me and I can play it over and over without tiring of listening to it. My favourite piece of Northern.

November 25, 2014 - Posted by | I CAN HEAR MUSIC | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

