The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

Sunshine on Leith

WELL, I FINALLY managed to get along to see the Sunshine on Leith movie

I can say from the heart that in no way was I disappointed – despite huge expectations.

I’m certainly not a great fan of musicals generally but Sunshine on Leith worked very well for me with the songs being melded into the dialogue opportunely and fairly seamlessly. Of course, being an admirer of The Proclaimers’ body of work helps but nevertheless I felt this aspect of it, from my layman’s point of view, was excellent. A script that possessed genuine emotion and elicited a certain caring for the characters moved things along nicely between Morningside and the old port.

The landscape shots over the city? Well, I expected to be impressed as even from my personal (and biased) view, Edinburgh is the most photogenic of cities. However, I found myself choking up several times over the true grandeur of Old Reekie in all its historic and geographic glory. Simply stunning – even to those of us who know and expect these sights and those feelings

The Proclaimers/Hibs connection was skilfully performed with no overkill and just in the right amounts.

There is nowhere like home and this eagerly awaited cinematographic ‘ribbon of dreams’ made me want to walk to my car and drive straight to Edinburgh without stopping. I can offer no higher compliment.

Well done to all.

October 17, 2013 - Posted by | I CAN HEAR MUSIC | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

