The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

Five for Friday: Music

“The term Internet meme is a neologism used to describe a catchphrase or concept that spreads in a fast way from person to person via the Internet.”

Something a little different for today then – an Internet meme. Friday beckons the weekend and it’s time for a little fun. A little chance to add your own views too. It’s five easy music questions – go head – have a go!

1. What song frequently gets stuck in your head?

Somewhat bizarrely it’s “Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da” by The Beatles. I have no particular feelings about this song but seem to have a Pavlovian moment every time I go near the kitchen for some reason! I have to force myself not to sing it…

“Sing Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da – hey!”

2. Choose one line from a song that sums up your life thus far.

“So take a good look at my face, you’ll my smile looks out of place”

The Tracks of My Tears by Smokey Robinson and The Miracles.

It’s been an up and down life (so far) but I put on a cheerful face when at times I don’t necessarily feel that way

3. Do you have one all-time favorite song (if so, what is it?) or do you skip around?

I definitely skip around. There have been quite a few including the choice above. Some of them would be:

Ave Maria
In a Big Country – Big Country
Baba O’Riley The Who
Just a Little Misunderstanding – The Contours
Atmosphere – Joy Division
Do I Love you? (Indeed I do) – Frank Wilson

4. How do you listen to music most often (pod, radio, etc)?

These methods in this order:

CD’s in car
Sony Mp3 player
Radio Two

Vinyl in the house

5. X-Factor: fantastic show or overrated?

Although it’s complete nonsense I quite like the early shows when all the self-deluded fruitcakes appear. It’s very artificial and formulaic though, great for spotting future pub-singers!

June 27, 2008 - Posted by | Ripping Yarns | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. The Questions:

    1. What song frequently gets stuck in your head?

    2. Choose one line from a song that sums up your life thus far.

    3. Do you have one all-time favorite song (if so, what is it?) or do you skip around?

    4. How do you listen to music most often (pod, radio, etc)?

    5. X-Factor: fantastic show or overrated?

    Comment by Stuart | June 27, 2008


Leave a Reply

