The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

Put a Tape On

Remember the days when we used to mix our own cassette tapes full of all the current tunes we were listening to? The old C90’s and C60’s that never seemed to last very long before spewing a length of impossibly coiled and mangled magnetic tape into the cassette player?

Well those days have returned with this little Internet toy, it’s called Muxtape only this time the old failings won’t be troubling you. Go ahead – give it a go…

Here’s an eclectic little mix of some of the tunes I’ve been listening to recently.

(Click on the cassette)

.

March 29, 2008 - Posted by | I CAN HEAR MUSIC | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I’ve still got a few of my old mix tapes from back in the day. No player to play them on though 😉

    Great link. Cheers

    Comment by Rich | March 31, 2008

  2. Hi Rich

    I’ve got a few too. I HAVE got a machine to play them on but I’m too frightened to!

    Comment by Stuart | March 31, 2008

  3. I’m too young for all that, but I LOVE all the music on that list!

    Comment by Tom | March 31, 2008

  4. Cheers Tom.

    It could easily be twelve different choices another day!

    You mean you’ve never had the ‘pleasure’ of trying to put one of those things together again!

    Comment by Stuart | April 2, 2008

  5. No, unfortunately (?), but I do remember being told CDs are indestructible. A few years on, they won’t play anymore. Deterioration. At least you can repair a tape to some extent…

    Comment by Tom | April 2, 2008

  6. Hi Stu – I noticed this article in the Grauniad about Muxtape – which has apparently been closed down by the RIAA (http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/blog/2008/sep/26/digitalmusic.internet). I suppose you could see that coming if you think about the way the corporate music business defends its turf like rabid pit bulls.

    Remember ‘Home Taping is Killing Music?’ Funny, it still looks alive to me…

    Have you tried LastFM (www.last.fm)? A different sort of thing altogether but a great way of listening to all that stuff you used to have but sold, or wanted to buy but never did, or for all that stuff you might buy now if you knew whether it was any good or not. Loads of everything on there.

    Comment by thehiblog | September 26, 2008


Leave a Reply

