The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

Ian McParland is a Hibby!

I’ve always known that the Notts County boss is one of us – a Hibby that is! I have to say I’d have loved him as Hibs boss at some stage. His teams play very good football and he seems such a thorough and sensible professional.

Ian ‘Charlie’ McParland is originally from Tranent and played his junior football for Ormiston Primrose. I watched him as a player many, many times for Notts County and only an over-zealous board stopped Brian Clough signing him for Forest. His scoring exploits were prolific at Notts with his predatory finishing and an exciting style of play.

image

I do believe Forest were totally wrong in pushing aside Ian’s managerial abilities in favour of the dour Colin Calderwood. Forest’s loss was County’s gain as he has sought to make them into a ‘real’ football club again from the bottom up. I hope that the newly-wealthy ‘other’ team in Nottingham stand by him as I believe he can become a superb manager given the opportunity.

Here’s a few words from Ian McParland in today’s Daily Record:

Despite Eriksson’s arrival, McParland revealed he’d still love to manage his boyhood heroes Hibs in the SPL.

He said: "Some people in Scotland won’t know me. I played most of my career down here before going to Dunfermline for a year. I did all my coaching badges in England but I keep in touch with what’s going on in Scotland.

There’s no one more Scottish than me. The real football people in Scotland know who I am and that’s the most important thing. I’d love to manage up there. If it was the right club I’d go back. I’ve been a Hibs fan all my life. I have great memories of winning the League Cup in 1972 when Arthur Duncan played.

"We also won the Dryburgh Cup in ’72 and ’73 and my favourites were Alex Edwards, Alex Cropley, John Blackley and Eric Schaedler.

"So I’d love to boss Hibs at some point but they’ve got a good manager at the minute in John Hughes who I know well."

July 23, 2009 Posted by | Ripping Yarns | 2 Comments

Antony Gormley’s Another Place

Staying in Southport on Merseyside recently, I made the effort to pop down the coast to Crosby just to the north of Liverpool and visit the superb piece of work Another Place by Angel of The North sculptor, Antony Gormley. I could never make my mind up about The Angel  of The North loved as it is by many as symbolic of the North-east of England.

image

When I first set eyes on it on one of my sojourns up the A1 to Edinburgh I felt it faintly ludicrous, rusting as it appeared to be. I’ve changed my view on that nowadays. It’s fair to say that is an eye-catching and auspicious sight – especially when viewed heading northwards.

Continue reading

July 23, 2009 Posted by | On The Road | , , , , | 3 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers