The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

The Marathon Diaries: Twenty-one up

Sometimes one just gets the bit between the teeth. Yesterday was just such a day. The day was not a particularly auspicious one as I toiled with the psychology report I am taxed to do. Administrative problems with the report were driving my blood pressure skyward and I really needed a complete change of pace and activity for the day.

I had promised myself a longer run, all being well, for the day as it had been a few short months since I’d ran more than 11-12 miles in one session. This had nagged at me mentally and in truth was carving chasms in my confidence regarding running a marathon. At one time of day I was mentally strong and assured enough to contemplate any distance placed in front of me – not so these days. For the day I desired 13 miles as a maximum and would have been comparatively happy with that achievement.

12052009059The beginning

So, head in something of a whirl with the frustrations of the day, I set off for my regular starting spot in nearby Woodborough and headed off down the lane pictured above at just after quarter past four. A pleasant afternoon was an encouragement as I hit the River, Trent side, at just after five miles and having passed through the pleasant villages of Lowdham and Caythorpe. Skipping through the cherry tree-lined path on the way to Gunthorpe I realised that I was doing pretty well today – feeling comfortable and about to settle into a long run. After six or seven miles I became fixated with the outlandish idea of running…yes, twenty miles.

Continue reading

July 21, 2009 Posted by | Archives: The Marathon Diaries, Ripping Yarns | , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Poor old Jack Tweed

Like many, I don’t pay too much note to the latest happenings of the celebrity pond-life but this one grabbed me by it’s audacity.

I was never convinced by Jack Tweed’s supposed motives for being with ex-Big Brother ‘celebrity’ Jade Goody. One might suggest they suited each other well though. It’s been illuminating to read of his various ways of ‘mourning’ for his deceased wife since her passing away however

Tweed’s tears after one night stand

image

Now poor Jack tells us of his tears and guilt after sleeping with a glamour model since the recent death of his wife. Hear of Jack’s suffering:

“I can’t remember it at all. I’d had so much to drink that night and I’m a bloke and these things happen.

“It’s all very blurry. I can’t remember any details. We were in her room.

Do me a favour Jack, who do you think you are kidding? I can perfectly understand the silly and ill-advised things that people do in anguish after terrible twists and turns in their lives but I don’t believe in this guy for a second. I also thought it pretty lame, informing the media that the last time he slept with his late wife was on their wedding night – a month before her death. Surely that tender and incredibly touching moment should have been between he and his wife only.

Whilst recognising Jade Goody’s poor hand she was dealt in life, I wasn’t particularly in admiration of her. I think this guy is a parasitical and insincere waste of time though.

July 21, 2009 Posted by | Ripping Yarns | , , | Leave a comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers