Culloden Battlefield

I’m sure there are a few who read this that have visited the grounds of the historic battlefield at some point. I’ve been on two occasions and found it a very humbling and sobering experience. On the second occasion I visited along with my partner’s father, a Canadian. His words to his daughter after the visit? ‘I’ve just visited the place that determined you are a Canadian’.

I can see how touching this can be to those with a link from afar and indeed feel the power of that time myself and of how it changed history irrevocably. I’ll not attempt to relate the story of Culloden here but safe to say it is one of the saddest stories from these islands ever.

image

I read a depressing story today on the BBC website. We should however not be too surprised at any behaviour these days I suppose. It included these words:

‘A family of four and their two dogs were sprawled across a grave mound having a picnic. “The father was leaning against the headstone eating a Scotch egg and smoking a cigarette.” The circle member said he would not expect such behaviour to be acceptable at World War I battlefields such as Flanders or Ypres.’

Anger at ‘war graves picnickers’

By reading the story it might be easy to draw the conclusion that this sort of thing might be emanating from our American friends on their visits. I’m not at all sure that this is the case. In fact, in my experience I’d say it’s definitely not. It’s pretty sad and disrespectful whoever it is.

image

2 thoughts on “Culloden Battlefield”

  1. My dads’ kin-folk were present, along with Lord George Murray’s contingent.
    Americans have a great respect of those killed in war,any war.

  2. It’s one heck of a visit Bryan. We need to respect and revere those men who were led to a certain death on those sad fields east of Inverness.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.