Lest we forget…

The eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month.

poppies

 

IN FLANDERS FIELDS the poppies blow 

Between the crosses row on row, 
That mark our place; and in the sky 
The larks, still bravely singing, fly 
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago 
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow, 
Loved and were loved, and now we lie 
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe: 
To you from failing hands we throw 
The torch; be yours to hold it high. 
If ye break faith with us who die 
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow 
In Flanders fields. 

John McCrae

 

5 thoughts on “Lest we forget…”

  1. Wonderful tribute Stu.

    Only right that we thank those who fought to afford us the freedoms that we have today.

  2. I read In Flanders Field with the children and the little ones did a workbook and made a Remembrance Angel. I told them the stories from our family.
    It’s too easy to forget-or for it not to matter. I hope by telling them family stories it will matter more, and for longer.
    God bless

  3. I’d like to use the photo of the field of poppies. I see it used everywhere, but i’m trying to source the original so I can properly license it. Is this your original work? If so it is beautiful and I would love to be able to use it in my remembrance campaign.

  4. Hi Matthew, I’m sorry but the image doesn’t belong to me originally. I agree it is beautiful. I hope you manage to find the source of it.

    Best wishes

    Stu

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.