The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

A Family of Hate

“The Most Hated Family In America”

I wonder who caught this a little while ago? I never got around to talking about it at the time but Louis Theroux’s excellent recent documentary inside San Quentin prison in California reminded me about that bizarre, outrageous and downright weird programme – as is to be expected from Louis’ investigations. That time, our man spent three weeks living with the family who comprise the tightly-knit Westboro Baptist Church in the US.

There was a time a few years back when I found Theroux a tad supercilious but I now believe he has something of a genius for teasing out all manner of strange idiosyncrasies from his explorations into human nature. It’s great and unmissable TV. In these days of endless, boring ‘reality’ TV that is quite an achievement

Continue reading

February 13, 2008 Posted by | Ripping Yarns | , , , | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers