The Tears of a Clown

Now if there's a smile upon my face…

‘Slim Jim’ Baxter

I’ll lay this on the line straight away. 

Jim Baxter was a hero of mine.

The reasons for that are many but in simple terms it was because my father worshipped him and this suggested that I ought to too. Another reason was simply because Jim was absolutely brilliant.

There, now I’ve got that out of the way I’ll begin. Much of Jim Baxter’s story as a player with Glasgow Rangers, Sunderland, Nottingham Forest and Scotland is fabled stuff. As always I won’t head in the direction of a detailed resume of his life or career as that has been covered by many. I’ll alternatively offer an individual take on a man who entranced the world of football during the 1960s’. One who passed through that decade’s football folklore like a shooting star. A very brilliant star at that. As a young man growing up in Hill O’ Beith he was a Hibernian fan, admiring the stellar forward play of the Hibees’ Famous Five.

Continue reading

January 16, 2008 Posted by | Sporting Tales | , , , , | 11 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers